Healthcare Education

Interview with an ICU Nurse: Bedside Nursing & Upcoming Challenges in Healthcare

This week we interviewed an ICU nurse from the Denver area to get their thoughts on the course of the pandemic and opinions about trends in nursing and healthcare employment.  They were very eager to speak their mind, but they opted to remain anonymous. 

Vivian: Tell us a little bit about yourself. How long have you been in the ICU and how long have you been at your current job? 

ICU RN: I have been a nurse for 7 years and have spent the last 3 working in the ICU. The ICU I work for is a heavy medical ICU with a smattering of cardiovascular patients, as well as some complicated post-surgical patients. Prior to working in the ICU I worked in a step down unit. 

Vivian: Did you leave your current job at all in the last year to travel?

ICU RN: No. My manager would only let me take a leave of absence if I became PRN and I couldn’t lose my benefits. I didn’t want to leave my job completely because I love the team that I work with. 

Vivian: Do you currently have COVID patients in your unit?

ICU RN: We had almost 50 COVID patients last spring and currently have three COVID patients in the unit. A week and a half ago- we had none. The patients we have currently were not vaccinated and are quite sick. 

Vivian: As reports are released that the pandemic is improving, how do you think this has changed our healthcare system? Are you worried about the Delta variant and the spread?