Prioritizing Your Mental Health as a Nurse
Wellness

We reached out to our community of nurses in honor of World Mental Health Day to ask what people on the frontlines are doing to preserve their mental health. We got a TON of great tips and wanted to share a few. We know nurses are under a lot of stress these days and encourage you to take the time out of your busy schedule to prioritize your own personal physical and mental health needs.

Anthony, BSN, RN

I’ve been a nurse for 7 years this October. I can’t emphasize enough how valuable prioritizing mental health is to prevent burnout in nursing. It is a profession that we are constantly placing others’ needs/care at the forefront of our lives. We are helping people at their most vulnerable points, but it is important to remember, “We have to take care of our own health before we can take care of others”. 

It is important for nurses to focus on their passions outside of the profession i.e. traveling, spending time with family/friends, exercising, etc. Give yourself time away from work to fully enjoy the things you love the most. Being present in those moments allows you to decompress and appreciate those things you love. 

If you are enjoying your time between work, then it may make working not as draining, because it makes the time off more valuable & appreciated.

Phuong, BSN, RN

Meditation to relax

Burnout is prevalent amongst us nurses even before the covid pandemic. Speaking from experience, nurses are so busy taking care of everyone else that we often forget to take care of ourselves. I personally am still learning and trying my best to prioritize my mental health. 

I found that taking breaks is a necessity for preventing burnout. Take those 15 min breaks that are “optional” and make them a priority! I also make sure to spend my off days doing what helps me relax such as working out, yoga or even napping.