• Certifications
  • C-ASWCM (NASW) - Certified Advanced Social Work Case Manager

    • $165-$310
    • Renews every 2 years



    Advanced social work case managers have a strong focus on client and system strengths and the development of self-care skills that go beyond the medical model, enhanced by years of experience and education.  

    The Certified Advanced Social Work Case Manager (C-ASWCM) credential is provided by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW) to designate specialty practice and distinction. C-ASWCMs are MSW-level social work case managers with advanced training, experience, and commitment to the knowledge, values, theory, and skills used to attain goals established in conjunction with the client and the client's family when appropriate. Social work case managers play an important role in supporting and advocating for clients across various healthcare settings, including mental health and substance use agencies, child welfare and adoption agencies, or in hospice care, hospitals, or nursing homes. 


    C-ASWCM prepared social work case managers strive to meet clients' complex needs and have a strong sense of professional identity and commitments to the core values outlined in the NASW Code of Ethics. 

    The basic eligibility requirements are as follows:

    • A Master’s degree in social work (MSW) from a graduate program accredited by the Council on Social Work Education. 

    • Documentation of at least two years (equivalent of 3,000 hours) of paid, supervised, post-MSW case management experience. 

    • Current state MSW-level license of an ASWB MSW-level exam passing score.

    • Adherence to the NASW Code of Ethics and NASW Standards for Continuing Professional Education. 

    A BSW must supervise supervised post-BSW experience with at least five years of post-BSW experience or an MSW with at least two years of post-MSW social work experience.  Alternate supervisors may be a licensed psychiatrist, licensed clinical psychologist (PhD), Licensed psychologist (PhD), Licensed mental health practitioner (LMHP), Licensed registered nurse or higher, or a Licensed professional counselor (LPC).

    After eligibility criteria are met, BSW-level social workers can complete the online application. Letters of reference are required, with at least one from a BSW or MSW social worker. Educational transcripts are also required.


    • C-ASWCM only: NASW members $165, Non-members $310

    • C-ASWCM and CCM: NASW members $310, Non-members $210



    Renewal occurs every two years for individuals who have successfully attained the C-SWCM credential. Requirements to renew include:

    • 20 contact hours of continuing education within the past two years relevant to case management. The certification holder must associate each CE activity with a social work case management core function. 

    • Current MSW-level state social work licensure. 

    • Compliance with the NASW’s Standards for Continuing Professional Education.

    Renewal Fees

    • NASW members: $95

    • Non-members: $350

    Other Resources

    NASW Credentialing Center FAQ.

    C-ASWCM application contains eligibility criteria, instructions and other information.

    Related Certifications

    The NASW offers the Certified Social Work Case Manager (C-SWCM) for candidates that have a BSW.

    Was this page helpful?

    Frequently asked questions

    What organization offers the C-ASWCM?

    The National Association of Social Workers (NASW) offers the C-ASWCM.

    What other certifications does the NASW offers besides the C-ASWCM?

    The National Association of Social Workers (NASW) also offers the following:

    • Academy of Certified Social Workers (ACSW)

    • Certified Clinical Alcohol, Tobacco & Other Drugs Social Worker (C-CATODSW)

    • Certified Advanced Children, Youth, and Family Social Worker (C-CYFSW)

    • Certified School Social Work Specialist (C-SSWS)

    • Certified Social Work Case Manager (C-SWCM)

    • Certified Social Worker in Health Care (C-SWHC)

    • Clinical Social Worker in Gerontology (CSW-G)

    • Certified Social Worker in Health Care (C-SWHC)

    • Advanced Social Worker in Gerontology (ASW-G)